Rasta Pasta, Mon.

I am SO excited for our trip to Jamaica. Yes, it’s almost a year away, but it gives me something to look forward to when the weather begins to get cold again (sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but it will get cold again 😦 ). Plus, I’ll be able to perfect my Jamaican accent over the coming months so much so that people will think I’m a Jamaican native, mon (cue I Love you, Man Jamaican accent). And by that time, maybe I’ll be able to grow some dreads. It’s been so long since I’ve taken a warm-weather vacation, and it’ll be Max and I’s first big trip together aside from Seattle last fall. One of my favorite bloggers Iowa Girl Eats just got back from her trip to Jamaica and posted some fun Jamaican-style recipes that have me even more excited for my trip! One of her recipes looked too delicious not to try: Rasta Pasta. The original recipe is found here, so definitely check it out! After reading her Jamaica posts last week, it had me in the mood for some sweet & spicy cuisine (and a beach!).  With all of the fresh veggies and fruit currently being harvested and the excitement for local Farmer’s Markets slowly brewing, I made a trip to Gateway Market to curb my fresh veggie craving. I ended up swapping out chicken for shrimp and tweaking a few other things here and there. Below is the result, and it turned out great! It had just the right amount of heat, while still remaining sweet. We soaked up the leftover sauce with some soft ciabatta bread. Now if only we were on the beach…

Shrimp Rasta Pasta

(Modified from Iowa Girl Eats)

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz short pasta
  • 2 Tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1/2  onion, chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small zucchini, quartered and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon minced or microplaned fresh ginger or ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chili pepper flakes
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 1 cup lite coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 lb shrimp, peeled & deveined
  • 2 cups broccoli florets, steamed
  • 1/4 cup corn kernels, canned, fresh, or frozen

    A few of the ingredients

Directions:

  1.  Melt 1 Tablespoon butter over medium heat in a large skillet. Add onion, green pepper, garlic, ginger, zucchini, and chili pepper flakes, then sauté until onions are soft, about 4-5 minutes. Add vegetable broth, turn the heat up to medium-high, and cook until zucchini is tender, about 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, cook pasta in boiling, salted water according to package directions. Drain, then return to the pot and set aside.

    My pasta assistant

  3. Add coconut milk, thyme, coriander, cumin, salt, pepper, and nutmeg to the large saute pan with the zucchini mixture, and simmer for another 5 minutes. Carefully pour the mixture into a food processor or blender, and process for 15 seconds or until smooth. Set aside.
  4. Using the same skillet, melt remaining Tablespoon butter over medium-high heat and add in shrimp. Cook for 2 minutes, or until opaque; add broccoli and corn. Sauté until vegetables are tender, about 2 minutes.. Add in cooked pasta and the amount of sauce you prefer. Stir to combine and heat everything through, then serve.

    Clean plate award!

N

Leave a comment