Salmon Sammy

Lox: salmon that has been cured in brine and sometimes smoked. 

I figured I’d do a quick definition for those of you (you know who you are ;)) who don’t know what lox is so you have an idea what I’m talking about when I describe this delectable sandwich. I love lox. I’ve grown up on it with my family being from Seattle, so smoked salmon and lox are my go-tos when I’m able to get good, wild-caught, West Coast fish. When I visited Seattle this past October, I was lucky enough to bring some amazing smoked salmon home from Pike Place Market. Unfortunately, that was gone within the week, so I’ve had to resort to Wild Nova Smoked Alaskan Sockeye from Trader Joe’s as of late. It’s surprisingly not too shabby! Anyways, I whipped up a semi-traditional lox-style sandwich for Max and I and the little sandwich disappeared faster than it took for me to put it together. Next time, I’ll need to make two!

Natalie’s Salmon Sammy

Ingredients:

  • 2 Arnold’s everything bagel thins
  • 1 pkg Wild Nova Smoked Alaskan Sockeye
  • 2 T low-fat cream cheese
  • 2 T jalapeno jelly
  • 2 handfuls arugula
  1. Split and toast the bagel thins. Then, split the rest of the toppings evenly between the two bagel thins (or not so evenly if you’re the one making it…I think mine got a bit more salmon :)) 

    I couldn't resist not taking a bite before I took the picture!

N
Leave a Reply

