Zucchini Crisps

zucchini-crisps
I always thought the trickiest part of having a garden would be actually keeping my vegetables alive; turns out the hardest part for me has been trying to keep up with the harvesting of all of my veggies! Not a bad problem to have if you ask me, but it’s definitely been a challenge to not waste our beautiful produce. And doesn’t stuff always taste better when you know that you grew it? I sure think so. Let me give you an example of my current dilemma. My main reason for growing sage was to use it in my brown butter-sage sauce in the fall. Well, turns out I have way more sage than I know what to do with, and since it won’t exactly last a few more months until the weather has cooled and I’m ready to eat it, I had to come up with a way to save my sage—cue sage herb butter.
I faced the same issue with my zucchini. I was so worried about it not actually growing (and/or the plant taking over my whole vegetable garden—that thing is HUGE), that I forgot that once it actually grows, I have to make something with it. Again, being summer, I have a distinct palate for what sounds good in the heat, and all of my zucchini dishes weren’t exactly on my summer menu (don’t worry, I’ll be much better prepared when the next zucchinis come along. I’m thinking a tasty squash/zucchini pasta!). So, I decided to make some zucchini crisps to go with our ever-popular dinner choice of brats and burgers. Nice and light, they give you the crunch of a chip without the unhealthy additions. Try them out the next time you grill!
Zucchini Crisps
Ingredients:
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1/3 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • Garlic salt and pepper
  • Marinara, optional
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Slice zucchini thinly, into about 1/4-inch thick rounds. In a medium bowl, toss zucchini with olive oil. In a small bowl, combine the Parmesan, bread crumbs, garlic salt, and pepper. Dip zucchini rounds into the cheese mixture, coating evenly on both sides, and place in a single layer on the baking sheet.
  3. Bake the zucchini rounds until browned and crisp, about 30 minutes. Remove with spatula. Serve with marinara, if desired.

Zucchini Crisps | Let Them Eat Cake Zucchini Crisps | Let Them Eat Cake Zucchini Crisps | Let Them Eat Cake Zucchini Crisps | Let Them Eat Cake Zucchini Crisps | Let Them Eat Cake

Leave a Reply

