Freezer Herb Butters

Hello, friends! What a crazy summer it’s been so far—and like always, it’s going by way too fast! We’re finally finding time to enjoy our new house, and I still have so many home DIY posts that I need to share with you…I just need a few rainy days so I have an excuse to stay inside!

This weekend, I took the time to redo our front porch planter (see below). I love sweet potato vine, so we made a trip to Earl May and ended up getting 50% off all the plants! I think it turned out pretty good if you ask me. This fall, we’re hoping to re-landscape out front yard, so I’m looking forward to that challenge. Besides, we need to get some bushes near the front door so we have a place for Christmas lights 🙂Planter

Among other things that are moving quickly this summer is the progress of my garden. Now that we have the dry heat to accompany our month of rain in June, our garden has been flourishing, and I haven’t had enough time to keep up with harvesting all the delicious veggies! I’ve been trying to think of ways to harvest some of the herbs and vegetables without them sitting in the fridge and going to waste, so aside from bringing mass bags of lettuce to work, I opted for herb butters to save my delicious sage and basil for a later use. So easy to make, and they’re great to use the next time you want a little flavor in your saute or pasta dish! The ingredients are simple enough: butter and your desired herb. And now, I have a bunch of tasty sage butter for this fall, when we decide to do butternut squash gnocchi in a brown butter-sage sauce (can you tell I’m excited for fall flavors :)).

Herb Butter

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup desired herb, loosely packed
  1. In a food processor, combine butter and herb of choice. (If desired, add any spices or seasoning salts to the processor—I didn’t as I knew I would end up adding salts/seasoning during the meal prep.) Pulse until mixed together.
  2. Scrape herb butter onto plastic wrap. Shape butter into a log shape; wrap in plastic wrap, then foil, and then place in a freezer bag for storage.
  3. To use, remove from freezer, and slice off a pat of butter.
    veggies

    sage, basil, kale, and lettuce

    basil

    Rinsing the basil.

    herb butter

    Pureed basil + butter

    sage

    Mmmm…fresh sage!

    herb butter

    All wrapped up.

    herb butter

    Ready to freeze.

What do you plan to use your tasty herb butter for?

N

Leave a Reply

