Kentucky Derby Bridal Shower

Carlson_BridalShower_InviteAhh, the Kentucky Derby. I’ve always wanted to throw a Derby party, even though I’ve never watched the actual race. The hats are so fun, the event is quite classy, and why not have a party centered around a 2-minute race? That gives everyone more time to drink and eat! So, when I decided to throw a bridal shower for my friend, it was only appropriate that I finally fulfill my lifelong dream and throw her a Kentucky Derby bridal shower (nevermind that it was actually on Cinco de Mayo…). Her wedding colors were perfect for the theme, so we stayed with pinks and greens throughout. And with some help from the other bridesmaids, the party turned out great! I will say, though, we were a bit nervous for the mint juleps. Being a Sunday afternoon, I didn’t want the ladies getting too toasted…but, *i think* everyone was good to go. No one got tooooo crazy 😉

Below are a few details about the shower if you want some help with your own derby party, but feel free to message me about anything! We had a great time 🙂

Derby Food:

  • Shrimp Salad Mini Cups: recipe here
  • Cucumber Tea Sandwiches: recipe here
  • Fruit salad
  • Angel food cake with strawberries
  • A few pasta salads

IMG_1201 IMG_1198 Angel Food Cake Cucumber Tea Sandwiches Shrimp Mini Cups

Derby Decor:

  • Guess Her Age banner: I used my Cricut (George’s Basic Shapes cartridge) to cut out the shapes, threaded ribbon through them, and clothespinned old pictures of Emily to them. Everyone wrote down the age they thought she was for each picture, and we gave a prize to the winner.IMG_1177IMG_1176 Bridal Shower Banner Bridal Shower Banner
  • Lucky in Love banner: Again with the Cricut. I used George’s Basic Shapes cartridge for the shapes and Cindy Loo cartridge for the lettering)Bridal Shower Banner IMG_1150
  • Signage: I used the Cindy Loo Cricut cartridge for the lettering on these. Bridal Shower Signs Bridal Shower Signs
  • Pom balls: I ordered these off of Etsy: Paperwhite Designs — she will do any pom ball color variation, and the assembly is so easy! Definitely recommend it 🙂IMG_1179
  • Rosette ribbon nametags: These were a bit tricky. I had originally tried to accordion-fold paper to create these, but since that took forever, I wound up using cupcake liners. Wayyyy easier, and still pretty cute! How to make them: 1. Cut circles the size of the inside of the cupcake liner (Again, I used my Cricut for this. Love that thing.) 2. Cut ribbon and paper for the ribbon tails. Staple the two ribbons and the two paper strips together at the top (I found this the easiest way to secure them). 3. Hot-glue the circle to the inside of the cupcake liner. Hot-glue the ribbon tails to the backside of the cupcake liner. 4. To attach, hot-glue a safety pin to the backside of the liner, on top of the ribbon.IMG_1159 IMG_1158 IMG_1157 IMG_1189
  • Mini trophies: I found these at a local party store. I wanted to get one big trophy, but all they had were smaller ones, so I settled for these. I snipped pink and green roses and a little filler and placed it in each trophy. IMG_1178

Derby Drinks:

  • Mint Juleps
  • Lemonade
  • Champagne

Misc:

  • Favors: We wrapped petits fours with little hats on them for take-home favors (These were ADORABLE! Unfortunately, I don’t think I snagged a picture…One of the bridesmaids picked them up from a local bakeshop.)
  • Prizes: I got little candies in pink/green and put them in a little organza bag. I also wrapped a few packs of pink/green gum in some ribbon. Inexpensive and cute!IMG_1175 IMG_1174 Party Favors
  • Invites: Ah, I loved these. My friend designed these for me. Since we didn’t have much time to get them sent out, I just sent them as a PDF via e-mail. Carlson_BridalShower_Invite

And of course, here’s a pic of all the lovely ladies in their hats 🙂 IMG_1187

What do you think? What is your favorite bridal shower theme?

N

12 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby Bridal Shower

  1. Pingback: Cucumber Tea Sandwiches | Let Them Eat Cake

  2. Pingback: Shrimp Salad Mini Cups | Let Them Eat Cake

Leave a Reply

