Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches

PhillySteak

Although I love to eat them, I have never attempted to make my own Philly cheesesteak sandwiches. Maybe it’s because I’ve never been to Philly, or maybe it’s because there are some foods that you just can’t replicate, no matter how hard you try. Take Pad Thai for example: It’s one of my absolute favorite dishes, but it’s just something I have no desire to try to make. It’s as good as it’s going to get in authentic Thai restaurants (aside from Thailand, of course), and as much as I hate to say it, my tiny apartment kitchen in West Des Moines, Iowa just isn’t going to make it up to standard. Now, Philly cheesesteaks aren’t quite as challenging, but for me — extremely inexperienced when it comes to cooking meat — it ends up being pretty much the same predicament.

That is, until this past weekend. While making my way through our local Hy Vee, I heard one of the sample sellers shouting out from the dairy section. As I made my way over (I NEVER turn down a sample), my nostrils perked up to the sweet smell of seasoned beef and onion. This was no normal grocery sample seller, I quickly came to realize as he shouted out over other grocery shoppers; he was a retired chef that just enjoys coming and cooking in grocery stores (weird, right?). The group around him continued to grow as he neared the end of his “presentation.” And as he handed me a sample of a juicy Philly steak sandwich, he mentioned the low-sodium and low-fat content in the steak he used (BONUS!). As previously mentioned, aside from poultry and breakfast sausage, I don’t really cook meat. But after seeing the package, I knew that I, too, could make this heavenly sandwich. Without it, I would have been lost, but sample-seller man showed me the light. With a little onion, pepper, provolone, and a bun, Max and I brought Philly to cold and rainy Iowa. Thank you, bizarre sample-seller man!

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 white onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 red pepper, sliced thinly
  • 1 package Pepperjax Grill Philly Style Sirloin Beef (see below)
  • Lawry’s seasoning salt
  • 4 slices provolone or Swiss cheese
  • 4 brat or hot dog buns
  1. In a large skillet, heat a good amount of olive oil over medium-high heat. Season with a garlic salt. Saute onions and peppers until soft and onions turn a yellowish color. Set aside.
  2. In the same skillet, add sirloin beef. Season with seasoning salt. Cook until no longer pink (about 1 minute). Lay sliced cheese atop meat in skillet and cook for 1 minute more or until cheese is melted and bubbly.
  3. Place peppers, onions, meat, and cheese on a bun. Smash together and feast away!
IMG_0463

What made it all possible.

IMG_0464

IMG_0465

IMG_0467

N

7 thoughts on “Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

