The Ultimate Chocolate Pie

Ultimate-Chocolate-Pie

I’ve grown up on pie. Ever since I can remember, I’ve requested pie for all birthday and holiday get-togethers. Maybe it’s because my mom and grandma’s pie recipes are truly the best … or because they forced me to eat it so much as a baby that I grew to love it (although highly doubtful). Whatever the case may be, I’ve grown to be an extremely picky pie critique. The crust HAS to be homemade, and pie from restaurants and stores? Forget it (and don’t tell me you like Village Inn pie…that’s not even in the same category).

It’s with this high standard that I began my search for the ultimate chocolate pie recipe. Now, you can’t go wrong with traditional French silk pie, but I had to find something bigger…better…chocolaty-er. Thank goodness I work for a magazine publishing company because as I turned to my right, what ever did I see resting upon my side table but the perfect bookazine to meet this task: Chocolate.

Now, this triple-decker chocolate pie is not for the faint of heart. Most everyone will enjoy this pie, but only true chocolate-lovers will really have a profound appreciation for this pie. My dad is one such chocolate-lover, and let’s just say, the last picture explains it all. This pie is truly life-changing. The one tweak that I made is I used my family’s top secret crust recipe. I’ll share it below so that you, too, can make life-changing pies. My last word before you go to work on your chocolate pie, young Obi-Wan: Although this recipe isn’t a quick fix for a sweet treat, it’s well worth the work (and the cleanup). I can’t wait to make another … but it might have to wait until next Christmas. Not so sure it fits in with my healthy NY resolutions 😉

The Ultimate Chocolate Pie

Ingredients:

For Crust:

  •  1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons milk

For 1st Filling:

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup egg beaters

For 2nd Filling: 

  • 3 ounces white baking chocolate
  • 1 cup whipping cream

For 3rd Filling:

  • 3 ounces semisweet chocolate 
  • 1 cup whipping cream

For Homemade Hot Fudge:

  • 3/4 cup semisweet or milk chocolate pieces
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 5-ounce can evaporated milk
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. For pie crust, mix together listed ingredients, kneading into a ball. Press into pie plate, pushing up sides and making sure there are no tears in the crust. Prick bottom with fork. Line edge with foil to prevent crust burning. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden. Cool on wire rack.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, cook and stir unsweetened chocolate over low heat until melted. Remove from heat; cool.
  3. For 1st filling, in a medium mixing bowl, beat sugar and butter with a mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add melted chocolate and vanilla. Gradually add egg product, stirring constantly to mix in. Spoon mixture into pie plate. Cover and chill for at least 5 hours.
  4. After pie is set, prepare 2nd filling. In a small saucepan, cook and stir white chocolate and 1/4 cup of the whipping cream until smooth and chocolate is melted; cool. In a small mixing bowl, beat the remaining 3/4 whipping cream with a mixer until soft peaks form. Add white chocolate mixture and beat just until stiff peaks form. Spoon over top of pie; freeze for 15 minutes.
  5. After 2nd filling is set, prepare 3rd filling. In a small saucepan, cook and stir semisweet chocolate and 1/4 cup of the whipping cream until smooth and chocolate is melted; cool. In a small mixing bowl, beat the remaining 3/4 whipping cream with a mixer until soft peaks form. Add semisweet chocolate mixture and beat just until stiff peaks form. Spoon over top of pie; freeze for 15 minutes.
  6. For homemade hot fudge, in a small saucepan, combine chocolate and butter over medium heat until melted. Add sugar and gradually stir in milk until sugar is dissolved. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Boil gently over low heat for about 8 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; cool slightly. Serve warm.

IMG_0250

IMG_0235

IMG_0273

IMG_0274

IMG_0275

N

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Chocolate Pie

Leave a Reply

