Thanksgiving Leftovers: Turkey Noodle Soup

Thanksgiving can be overwhelming…especially if you were the host. Not only is there plenty of cleanup involved, but you’re usually left with quite a bit of leftovers. And if you’re me, another Thanksgiving feast after 3+ the previous week doesn’t sound the most appetizing.

Although I didn’t host Thanksgiving this year, I was given a few tupperwares full of leftovers. And since I’m all for using up what I have, I decided to make a modified turkey noodle soup with the turkey and some of the veggies I found in my fridge. It’s pretty hard to mess up Turkey Noodle Soup, and if you favor other veggies, you can add those, too! And believe me, even though I thought I couldn’t take one more bite of turkey, this recipe was different enough that I was able to enjoy the feast in a completely different way 🙂

Turkey Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • Oregano
  • Salt & pepper
  • Basil
  • 1 1/2 cups egg noodles, uncooked
  • 2 cups turkey, shredded
  1. Cook onion in hot oil over medium-high heat until soft. Add chicken broth, celery, carrots, and spices. Bring to boiling.
  2. Add egg noodles and cook until al dente (about 8 minutes). Add turkey. Reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes until heated through. Ladle into bowls and serve.

Saute onions, and add broth to pot.

Chopped veggies!

Add veggies and spices to broth mixture.

Add in noodles; cook until soft. Add turkey.

Ladle into bowls.

And dig in!

Turkey noodle soup for the soul 🙂

Leave a Reply

