6-Ingredient Tilapia with Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa

I’ve been trying to get back on the healthy bandwagon. With the holidays rapidly approaching (can you believe it’s already November!?), I know my recipes and meals will start the slow decline towards unhealthy alternatives in the coming weeks. Plus, in a few short weeks, my workplace will be flooded with sweets and treats galore to celebrate the upcoming festivities, and how can I really turn down cookies, brownies, or holiday snack mixes? That would be plain disrespectful. Now, my problem isn’t eating healthy meals…it’s the snacking that ensues shortly after. I can eat salads for lunch and dinner, but if there is a sweet nearby, my sweet radar will pick up its signal, and I’ll proceed to think about it all day long until I give in. And late at night? Not so good about that, either. I’ll eat my healthy dinner, but while we’re watching one of our many shows, I’ll be mentally sorting through my cupboards wondering what sort of concoction I can mix together for a sweet snack…and let’s just say, I’ve been known to come up with some crazy alternatives (figs dipped in caramel, anyone?).

To begin my attempt at less snacking and more healthy and filling meals, I decided on a sweet and flavorful tilapia dish for Monday night’s dinner. Since fruit was included in the quinoa, I figured I wouldn’t be craving sweets after the meal quiteee as much. And any sort of carb usually does a pretty good job at satisfying me. I threw together whatever I could find for the tilapia coating; since tilapia is such a mild fish, it goes with just about everything! Try mixing together whatever seasonings you can find (within reason) for your own tilapia concoction. This one wound up being pretty tasty (and filling!) — enough so that all I needed was some popcorn to round out my night šŸ™‚

6-Ingredient Tilapia with Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 tilapia fillets fresh or frozen (depending how many you’re feeding)
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • Curry powder, to taste
  • White pepper, to taste
  • Garlic powder, to taste
  • Garlic salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 T olive oil
  • Roasted red pepper quinoa (I got Near East brand)
  • 1/2 pineapple, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, sliced
  1. Dethaw tilapia fillets, if frozen. In a shallow dish, mix together Parmesan, curry powder, white pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt, and pepper, adding desired amount of each (I added more curry powder because I like that flavor!). Dip tilapia fillets in mixture, coating each side. In a medium skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add coated tilapia fillets, and cook over medium heat until fish flakes (3-5 minutes).
  2. Meanwhile, cook quinoa according to package instructions. Chop pineapple and red pepper, and saute in a medium skillet with garlic and olive oil until pineapple is tender and slightly browned and red pepper is crisped. Add to quinoa mixture. Serve with tilapia fillets.

6 ingredients for tilapia.

Mixed together…

Tilapia fillets.

Quinoa ingredients.

Cook red pepper in garlic.

Add pineapple.

And add pepper and pineapple to cooked quinoa.

Finished meal!

Tasty quinoa.

And crusty tilapia.

Leave a Reply

