Halloween Costumes: Koala + Eucalyptus Tree

For Halloween this year, Max and I didn’t have plans to do much of anything. Since my parents moved the weekend before and the holiday fell on a Wednesday, we weren’t going to get too crazy with costumes or parties. However, our friends ended up hosting a housewarming party the Saturday following Halloween, and when I saw that costumes were optional, I didn’t want to be thaaat person who showed up without a costume…so I decided to make some for us to wear.

First off, I’m all about comfort. Fish nets, heels, and corsets aren’t really my thing. I’ll sub in Toms, leggings, and a T-shirt any day. Secondly, I didn’t want to spend a whole lot of money. Well, with this costume, both comfort and cost were covered: I ended up spending about $25 total for both costumes! And it was a hit at the party, after people realized I wasn’t a mouse 🙂 If you’re looking for a fun costume for next year, check out the details below…besides, who doesn’t love koalas?

Koala Costume

(We found the idea here)

What You’ll Need:

  • Gray T-shirt (I get mine in a pack from Target. A cami/tank will work well, too!)
  • 1 piece white felt
  • 1 white boa
  • 1 piece gray felt
  • Gray headband
  • Fabric tape or glue (tape comes off and doesn’t ruin your clothing; glue is permanent)
  • Face paint
  • Gray leggings
  • Gray shoes
  1. Cut the white felt into a circle. Cut white boa to fit the outside edge of circle; tape or glue boa to felt. Tape or glue felt to T-shirt.
  2. Fold gray felt in half. Cut gray felt into two attached circles (think of when you cut out Valentine hearts or snowflakes) with a little section in between for headband. Cut two small pieces of the boa to make fuzzy ears and attach. Tape or glue ears onto headband.

Koala makings…

Koala outfit…

Eucalyptus Costume

What You’ll Need:

  • 9-12 pieces of green-color felt (the more leaves, the fuller the tree!)
  • Green pen
  • Brown hat (I found that baby at Michael’s for $2)
  • Brown T-shirt
  • Brown khakis
  • Brown shoes
  1. Trace and cut out felt into eucalyptus leave shapes (long and thin). Make sure to do varied sizes, smaller for the hat and larger for the shirt.
  2. Tape or glue the pieces onto the shirt and hat. You’re ready to go! 🙂

Eucalyptus.

Hello, tree.

Koala + Tree.

5 thoughts on “Halloween Costumes: Koala + Eucalyptus Tree

  1. Pingback: 12 Fun Couple’s Halloween Costume Ideas | {i love} my disorganized life

  2. Pingback: 12 Fun Couple's Halloween Costume Ideas | {i love} my disorganized life{i love} my disorganized life

Leave a Reply

