Pumpkin Carving Recap + Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ohh what a fall weekend. Aside from it being a little warmer than I would have preferred, it was perfect! Max and I woke up early to head down to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, then headed out to Howell’s Pumpkin Patch to pick out some pumpkins to carve on Sunday. Sunday, we went for a bikeride, prepared a delicious butternut squash gnocchi (check out tomorrow’s post for the recipe!), and carved our pumpkins.

Now, as I mentioned in last week’s Friday Funs post, I am not very good at carving pumpkins. I lack the patience and dedication (and any sort of pumpkin-carving talent) to carve intricate designs, let alone a normal jack-o’-lantern face. When I was younger, my brother and I would carve pumpkins. He would always choose fancy designs like a cat in a moon, and me, not wanting to be outdone, would try to choose something somewhat difficult to match his choice. Nik’s would turn out perfect, and mine would break about halfway through, causing me to leave my pumpkin and go scrounge for Halloween candy. My mom would usually find a way to salvage the pumpkin, making it into a simple triangle face, but at that point, I had already given up and begun plotting how to destroy my brother’s perfect pumpkin (I know, I know, not OK). It usually involved enticing the family beagle to eat the design out of the pumpkin (I’m sorry, Nik). She really would eat anything…
Anyway, this year, I was determined that it would be different. I was careful, didn’t choose a too-difficult design, and worked slowly. But, alas, I’m cursed in the ways of pumpkin carving. As I began to cut the mouth of Oogie Boogie, his whole head broke off. However! I’ve grown up so much from the old days, and instead of giving up and looking for candy (I knew we didn’t have any), I continued to carve! After finishing carving my separate pumpkin pieces, Max, my savior, took some skewers and patched my pumpkin up for me. And that, my friends, is how you persevere in times of trouble.

(Scroll down past pumpkin pics for toasted pumpkin seeds recipe!)

Carving his Hawkeye

My design, pre-carving.

Annnnd it broke.

 

But Max fixed it!

Finished Hawkeye.

Ta-da!

Orange you glad you carved a Hawkeye?

All lit up.

Front door decor.

Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients:

  • Pumpkin seeds, washed and membranes removed
  • Garlic salt
  • Olive oil
  • Seasoning salt
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Arrange pumpkin seeds in a single layer on oiled baking sheet, rolling to coat with oil. Season with garlic salt and/or seasoning salt (I like mine salty!) Or, if you’re looking for a sweeter flavor, season with cinnamon and sugar.
  2. Bake for about 30 minutes or until seeds are crisp.

 

Oiled & salted pumpkin seeds.

Baked pumpkin seeds.

Eat pumpkin seeds.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

