White Chicken Chili

Nothing can beat a big pot of chili on a cool fall day, especially when it accompanies a good football game. So even though it wasn’t very cold this weekend, I couldn’t wait a second longer to make a steaming pot of chili for the Iowa game. Plus, I wasn’t feeling the greatest, and it’s a known fact that soup cures colds.

I’m pretty picky when it comes to chili. It can’t be too spicy, but it needs to be flavorful. And I am not one for runny soups. The thicker the soup, the better! So back when I first started cooking on my own, I had a tough time finding a chili recipe to my liking. Different recipes would have bits and pieces that I would like, but they just weren’t all there. So over the years, I’ve experimented and come up with my own recipe. I’m pretty sure it changes just about every time I make it since I have yet to write it down, but this time, I nailed down “exactly” what I put into the pot so hopefully I can duplicate it next time! You know, I might even prefer white chicken chili over traditional chili! And I’ve been seeing some verrry interesting alternative recipes out there (coconut chili, pumpkin chili) that I cannot WAIT to try! But for now, my white chicken chili will have to suffice 🙂

Natalie’s White Chicken Chili

  • 1 rotisserie chicken (this is the key…it adds great flavor!)
  • 2 cans green chiles, diced
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can cannellini beans, drained
  • 1 can butter beans, drained
  • 4-6 oz. chicken broth
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Olive oil
  • Cumin
  • Chili powder
  • Oregano
  • Salt & pepper
  • Corn bread, optional
  • Monterey Jack cheese, optional
  1. Prepare crock pot over low heat. Pull dark and white meat from rotisserie chicken. Discard (or eat) skin (and bones), and place meat in crock pot. Add green chiles, 3/4 can of corn, and about 3/4 can of cannellini and butter beans. Cover with chicken broth (more for a brothier consistency, less for a thicker soup).
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in skillet. Add garlic and onion and saute until soft. Add onion to soup mixture.
  3. Add spices to taste (the more, the better!) Replace lid and let cook for 2-4 hours over low heat.
  4. Serve with corn bread and top with cheese, if desired.

 

20120918-160117.jpg

Onions + garlic

20120918-160123.jpg

Put the lid on and let ‘er cook!

20120918-160130.jpg

Season generously…

20120918-160136.jpg

And the best part…dig in!

20120918-160143.jpg

Soup is served.

2 thoughts on “White Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: Chicken & Corn Chowder « Let Them Eat Cake

Leave a Reply

