DIY Quote Canvas

I’ve got the house bug. Friends and family members are buying houses right and left, and even though we aren’t ready to buy yet, it hasn’t stopped me from looking and longing for my own house to decorate! Since we have a little less than a year before we can officially begin our search, I decided that a little redecorating around our apartment might curb my desire…for now. At Elements of Design in Jordan Creek (where my mom just got a job!), they have some of the coolest, most unique canvas prints. I was browsing their selection and made the mistake of looking at the price tags of some of the larger prints…$700! For a canvas with some words on it! I was shocked. Yes, these are quality prints, but who the heck would spend that kind of money on a white and black canvas? So, I decided I’d try my hand at making my own. Over the weekend, my friend Jessie was at an antiques show and found me some awesome letterpress stamps. I figured all I needed to make my own print was a canvas and an ink pad. Turns out it wasn’t quiteee as easy as I thought…A stamp pad won’t work on canvas because there isn’t enough ink to saturate the letters. And since the canvas didn’t have a solid backing, I wasn’t able to press down super hard to get the letters to press on uniformly. My canvas didn’t turn out at ALL how I expected it, but after the first couple stamps, I just went with it. Instead of a clean, uniform look, it ended up being a lot more rustic and worn. I embraced the result and am pretty happy with the finished product. Below are some of the prints from which I drew my inspiration, and below those are the instructions for attempting to make your own. I’d take mine over spending $700 any day. Hope you like it! 🙂

A few pieces I used as inspiration…

DIY Quote Canvas

What You’ll Need:

  • Canvas at desired size
  • Tape
  • Tape measurer
  • Alphabet stamps or letterpress letters
  • Black paint
  • Paintbrush
  1. Measure and tape off your canvas with desired spacing between lines. I went with about 2 inches between each line since my letters were so small.
  2. First attempt with stamp ink pad = fail. Use permanent black paint. I ended up squirting some paint on a paper plate, and then used my paintbrush to apply the paint to the stamps so that there wasn’t too much. You’ll find a good pattern to use. But DEFINITELY have a few trials on a scrap piece of paper before stamping on your canvas.
  3. Start stamping! I chose some of my favorite quotes and intermixed them with some everyday “life lessons” to get a good variety. Let your imagination be your guide 🙂

Some of the supplies.

All taped and ready to stamp!

My lovely letters.

Trial one: Stamp pad

All done!

N

One thought on “DIY Quote Canvas

  1. Hello webmaster do you need unlimited articles
    for your blog ? What if you could copy post from other sites, make it unique and publish on your website – i know the right tool for you, just search in google:
    Loimqua’s article tool

Leave a Reply

