Dad Dates: Thai Flavors

I have been on a Thai kick lately. I just can’t get enough of it. This time, my dad and I had a few joiners to our normal weekly lunch date: My brother and sister-in-law. My criteria for choosing our destination was something Asian. After doing a bit of research, I went with Thai Flavors on the east side. The same owners of Cool Basil, this restaurant is located in a rundown strip mall next to a Spay Center (ha, loved that). From the outside, it looks pretty sketch, but once inside, it’s super nice! Really comfy chairs, fancy schmancy water goblets, the whole works. And the food is unbelievably fast. We ordered and had our food within 5 minutes (something I LOVE since I’m constantly starving…). Although I was a little nervous about the quality since it came out so fast, the food proved why a second restaurant was opened on the west side: it was top-notch Thai food. Great flavor, good amount of spice, and a decent portion size. Surprisingly, the portions here were about half of what they offer at Cool Basil, which I found to be nice — if there’s more, I can’t stop myself from eating it :/. I ordered the Panang Curry with tofu, a mild curry dish served with white rice. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the chance to take a picture of it when it first came out (see above about being starving). Once my brother reminded me that I needed a blog pic, it was too late…my food looked less than appealing, with brown sauce and rice all over my plate. Sorry, friends. I did manage to snap of pic of Nik’s dish, though. He went with a level 5 spice, one below the most spice you can have. Crazy…(I got a 1, ha). My dad and Rachel went with ol’ faithful pad thai, with a 3 and 1 spice level, respectively. Everything was great, I definitely got my Thai fix! I will definitely return whenever I have an inkling for more Thai.

Thai Flavors lunch grade: A

Nik’s Drunken Noodles(?) with tofu

N

Leave a Reply

