My Perfect Pizza

After paroozing my past blog posts, I realized I make pizza a lot. And you know what? There’s nothing wrong with that. Pizza is a blank slate. You can literally throw anything onto a good crust and it turns out delicious (most of the time. Well, last night was one of those nights.  I wanted to steer away from our traditional zas (Pepperoni, BBQ Pork, Hawaiian) and try something with alllll of my favorite ingredients on it. Why haven’t I tried this before? Well let me tell you…all of my favorites are all of Max’s least favorites. So finding a time when I could make a pizza when he wasn’t there proved to be a little more difficult than I thought. Last night was Max’s first night of class, so I took advantage of the opportunity, dropped by Whole Foods on my way home, and grabbed some of my fave toppings. (After a coworker brought fresh figs in the other day, I’ve been dying to add them to a recipe and WF had them on sale!!) And Max didn’t go hungry, either; I made him his own pepperoni pizza so he didn’t feel left out when he got back from his first day of school 🙂 My mom and Rachel came by to enjoy the pizza, too! The combo might be one of my new favorites!!

Proscuitto, Fig & Bleu Cheese Pizza

Ingredients:

  • Pizza crust, bought or homemade
  • Honey
  • Figs, sliced
  • Bleu cheese crumbles
  • Proscuitto
  • Arugula
  1. Preheat oven to 415 degrees F. Drizzle crust with honey, then top crust with figs, bleu cheese, proscuitto, and arugula. (Note: If you want crispy arugula, add it before placing it in the oven. If you want fresh arugula, top it after removing from the oven. I like the crispy arugula!)
  2. Bake on pizza stone for 10-15 minutes, or until prosciutto and arugula are crispy and cheese is melty. Remove with pizza peel and let sit; slice and serve!
20120823-113217.jpg

Underneath the prosciutto layer 🙂

20120823-113223.jpg

Prosciutto layer.

20120823-113232.jpg

Arugula layer before baking!

N

Leave a Reply

