Scallop & Veggie Fettuccine

So I’ve been craving scallops lately. I didn’t have a recipe in particular that I wanted to use, nor have I ever cooked them on my own before…all I knew was that I wanted to eat me some scallops! The only place I trust for scallops in Des Moines is Gateway Market, so I headed there after work to see what I could find. Settling on bay scallops (the small ones), I then browsed the aisles for the rest of my meal and decided on fresh veggies and pasta as an accompaniment. I mixed up a light white wine sauce to top my pasta, and found some fancy garlic-parsley fettuccine to add even more flavaaa. I even used up some leftover sweet corn from the 4th — talk about not wasting food 🙂 It was a nice, light pasta for a steamy, hot summer night.

Scallop & Veggie Fettuccine 

  • Desired pasta, cooked according to package directions
  • 1 1/2 T olive oil
  • 1 lb bay scallops
  • 2 cups dry white wine
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T parsley
  • Pepper
  • Desired veggies, sauteed
  1. Heat olive oil over high heat. Meanwhile, rinse the bay scallops and pat dry with a paper towel. Add to hot oil, cooking until opaque and seared on both sides (about 2-3 minutes). Add 1/2 cup wine and reduce heat to medium. Cook for additional 3 minutes.
  2. Remove scallops from pan. Add remaining wine and juice of one lemon. Bring to boil and reduce liquid by one half.
  3. Add butter, parsley, and pepper. Add sauteed veggies and cooked scallops to sauce, and serve over cooked pasta. 🙂

Rinse the scallops

My desired veggies!

Pots & pans

Garlic & Parsley Fettuccine

Pasta!

Delicious!

N

One thought on “Scallop & Veggie Fettuccine

Leave a Reply

