Panzanella

Panzanella…an Italian salad that’s great for summer AND is perfect to use up some of my fresh garden herbs & veggies! I’ve been wanting to try making this salad for awhile now, and the other night before dinner, I had just enough time to throw it together. However, I don’t think I let my bread cool enough, so it didn’t end up quite as crunchy as I would have like…womp, womp. I recommend making it when you have plenty of time to let the bread cool so as not to make the same mistake I did!!

Panzanella

(Makes 5-6 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups day-old bread, cubed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 cucumber, quartered and chopped
  • 1 tomato + 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 15 basil leaves, cut into thin strips
  • Handful of arugula
  • 1 T balsamic
  • Salt & pepper
  1. Now, I opted to take out the pickled red onions since Max isn’t an onion fan, but if you want to use onions, soak them in 1/3 cup red wine vinegar before adding them to the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Toss bread and olive oil in a medium bowl, coating bread cubes with oil. Place on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees F for 6-8 minutes, or until bread cubes are crispy. Remove from oven and let cool completely.
  3. Meanwhile, combine red wine vinegar (or remaining red wine vinegar if using onions), cucumber, tomato, basil, arugula, and splash of balsamic. Mix together and add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in cooled bread cubes and refrigerate for about 15 minutes to let flavors soak in.

My beautiful tomatoes and basil from the garden!

 

20120627-082829.jpg

Toasty bread cubes

20120627-082833.jpg

Veggies, all mixed up!

20120627-082838.jpg

And add in the COOLED bread crumbs

N

Leave a Reply

