Momma’s Chocolate Puddin’

Oftentimes, after dinner, I have an extreme sweet craving. To curb this craving, I typically don’t buy any sweets or try to satisfy my sweet tooth with a piece of fruit. However, last night that just wasn’t going to cut it. So, I scrounged my cupboards looking for everything and anything I could use to make something dessertlike, and I realized, to my delight, that I had all of the ingredients for my mom’s homemade chocolate pudding! SCORE! It’s so creamy and delicious, and for a sweet treat, it’s not too bad for you! Below is her simple recipe for the next time you have an extreme craving for chocolate…don’t worry, I’m here to help 😉

Momma’s Chocolate Puddin’

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 c cocoa
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/3 c cornstarch
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 3 c milk
  • 3 T butter
  • 1 1/2 vanilla
  1. In a medium saucepan, combine cocoa, sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Over low-medium heat, slowly whisk in milk until well-blended. Continue stirring until mixture begins to boil (don’t stop or leave unattended or it will burn!); stir constantly for an additional 3 minutes (mixture should thicken). Remove from heat. Stir in butter and vanilla. Let cool and enjoy your sweet treat! I topped mine with a sprinkle of coconut, yum! 🙂
20120627-082851.jpg

Stir, stir, stir!

20120627-082900.jpg

And you stir some more…

20120627-082904.jpg

And voila, dessert is served!

N

Leave a Reply

