Summer Salad Solutions

I don’t know about you, but in the summer, I am all about eating light. Maybe it’s because I have to wear a bikini, maybe it’s because of the heat, or maybe it’s a little bit of both. Whatever the reason, I opt for more salads, fruits, or fish dishes. I’ve never been a big salad-eater for lunches; if other people make them, they look delicious, but whenever I try to throw something together at the salad bar, it’s  never the same. It’s like when your mom makes you a PB&J and then you try to make one on your own…it just doesn’t taste as good. Well, I’ve recently been dabbling a bit with summer salad concoctions and have finally threw a few salads together that were surprisingly tasty and satisfying!  If you have the same issue as me, maybe some of the suggestions below will spark your salad creativity! Mix and match to create your own delicious invention!

Greens: I typically steer clear of iceberg, and romaine tends to bore me unless it’s a Caesar salad. Here are a few greens that I prefer.

  • Arugula
  • Herb Mixes (available in bags at grocery stores)
  • Spinach

Veggies: A necessity for any salad.

  • Sliced red peppers
  • Cucumbers
  • Baby carrots
  • Red onion
  • Green onion
  • Cherry tomatoes

Fruits: I LOVE fruit on my salads, especially with a good blue or goat cheese!

  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Apple/Pear slices
  • Blackberries
  • Grapes
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Mango slices

Misc: For that necessary crunch!

  • Slivered almonds
  • Wonton strips
  • Croutons
  • Almonds
  • Hard-boiled egg
  • Candied walnuts
  • Bacon(!)
  • Olives
  • Chickpeas

Cheeses: Lest we forget…

  • Goat
  • Blue
  • Feta
  • Parmesan (shaved!)
  • Mozzarella
  • Brie (I like to melt a little for a warm salad)
  • Any shredded cheese

Proteins: I’m not a big meat-eater, especially in the summer, but for a dinner salad, I often add a fillet of fish or chicken!

  • Steak
  • Tilapia
  • Salmon
  • Chicken
  • Ham
  • Bacon
  • Ground beef (for a taco salad!)

Dressings: I prefer to make my own dressing to keep it nice and light!

  • Champagne vinaigrette
  • Oil & vinegar
  • Balsamic vinaigrette
  • Balsam pear vinegar + olive oil (my recent fave)

Today, my salad is a mixed greens base with red peppers, cucumbers, goat cheese, slivered almonds, hard-boiled egg, and topped with a balsam pear vinegar+olive oil. So good! What is your fave salad mix?!

N

Leave a Reply

