Exerciseee the Demon.

I’ve had an awesome week/weekend full of friends, drinks, and food. Lots of food. Now don’t get me wrong, those are the best kinds of weeks and I wouldn’t trade them for anything, but I needed a day to detox. And Sunday just happened to be that day. I decided to do a day full of everything active to work off the “demons” (AKA wine, fish tacos, burgers, margaritas…) from the busy week of fun. Now, I know one day isn’t going to cancel out the excessive eating I’ve done throughout the week, but hey, it can’t hurt either, amiright?! Andd, it was so gorgeous out, so why not spend the majority of the day outside? Well, my active day itinerary is laid out below, accompanied by some photo documentation that I actually did what I wrote instead of loafing on the couch and watching a season of Sex in the City (which, believe me, I’ve done). If only I could have days like these more often!!

9:00-10:00 Dog walk — Calvin had a lively walk to start off my activity-filled day. We met a few dogs, took in the sights, and even saw a bluebird!

Picturesque beast.

11:00-12:00 BodyStep — Ah, I love this class. Even on days where the absolute last thing I want to do is go to the gym, I always leave this class feeling energized and ready for the rest of my day. And it’s not often that I teach the full hour class, so I always get excited to make a fun playlist for it!

20120603-204706.jpg

The aftermath in the GGX room.

12:30-3:30 Bikeride to Centro — We live out in West Des Moines, so when we’re feeling extremely ambitious, we take a long ride into downtown. It takes about an hour to get there, but the ride (for the most part) is on a beautiful shaded trail. Our original intention was to bike to Gusto Pizza, but we got there and found out it doesn’t open until 4! So we made our way over to Centro for lunch instead. The rain gods were on our side today, because the minute we were seated on their covered patio, a light shower started up. But by the time we were all finished, the rain had stopped and the sun just so happened to come out 🙂 Still craving pizza, I ended up with the margherita pizza (with pepperonis) and a side salad. Max opted for an amaaazinggg tenderloin, topped with bacon, cheese, ham, garlic aioli…so good. And of course, we needed to hydrate after the ride, so a bellini and bloody mary were just what we needed to make it back home.

20120603-204712.jpg

Action photo…

20120603-204719.jpg

A bellini for the lady..

20120603-204724.jpg

And a bloody mary for the gentleman.

20120603-204729.jpg

holy tenderloin

20120603-204735.jpg

pizza, please!

20120603-204739.jpg

And they said this was “pizza for one.”

20120603-204744.jpg

A bite o’ burger.

5:00-6:00 Slowpitch game –I play for the lovely and talented Butler Bombers, and although we easily have the most fun out of all the teams in the league each game, before tonight, our record was 0-2. Well, skill luck was on our side tonight and we squeaked out a win! It was a blast as usual, and my MVP boyfriend had two triples and an in-the-park homerun! Woo hoo, go Max!

20120603-204749.jpg

Butler Bombers after the big W

8:30-9:00 Closing ceremonies — I took Calvin on one last walk as the sun was setting to finish off the day. What a gorgeous night! We walked through a nearby neighborhood and took in the beautiful sunset. It’s the little things, people 🙂

Des Moines sunset. Sometimes I pretend the clouds are mountains…

All in all, today was a fabulous day. So much fun throughout, I got to see great friends and family, and stay active the whole most of the day. We’ll see how I’m feeling tomorrow 😉 Hope you all have a great week!

N

Leave a Reply

