My Veggie Garden!

Unlike my parents, I wasn’t gifted with a green thumb. I think gardens are beautiful, but I’ve never been a natural at keeping things alive…whether that be hermit crabs or bamboo plants. Last summer, I tried my hand at a tomato plant. Although it grew like crazy, it unfortunately didn’t produce the best tomatoes. Some may say I overwatered it, I like to think I loved it a little too much (it’s possible, okay?).

Well, I decided this year would be different. Our gardening department at Meredith had leftover plants we could take in late April, and although I was skeptical, I overcame my fear of losing another tomato plant and took both a cherry tomato plant and a hot pepper plant home with me that day. I took a picture of them the day they were “born” into my garden, and today I am happy to say, they are doing so well! I’m a proud garden mother. My tomato plant is growing like a weed. Not only that, but I planted herbs this year, too. With all the cooking I’ve been doing, I figured it would be nice to be able to use my own fresh herbs rather than buying them at the store. And guess what? I just harvested my first batch of basil! I actually had success with my gardening!!

Now, I don’t want to jinx myself, but to be completely honest, if my garden shriveled up and died right now, I would still feel like I was successful this year. So it can only be up from here! I’ve included a little diary of my potted garden below. I can’t wait to post more pictures when all of my other goodies are ready to harvest (cross my fingers!).

The day that I brought my little fellas home…

First day in the pots.

Hot Pepper plant today!

Tomatoes today!

More tomatoes!

Oregano

Pruned basil, rosemary, oregano

Tomato plant

My first basil harvest!

Do any of you have a veggie garden? If so, what is your favorite thing to plant!?

N

7 thoughts on “My Veggie Garden!

  1. So glad that you are having success with your garden! I just bought my first house and my boyfriend and I are waiting to close, hopefully any day now. One of the first things I want to do is start a garden! I can’t wait to grow some tomatoes. YUM! 🙂

  2. I have what I call a salsa garden. I like planing tomatoes, onions (not this year), peppers hot and sweet and some cilantro. I eat a ton of salsa. My problem no one likes it as hot as I do so I have to tone it down a little if I make large batch.

    • Ahh I think I am most excited for my peppers to begin growing! When do your peppers start growing? All I have are a few flowers on my plants so far 🙂

      • Not for a while yet. Mine have only been planted for about 3 weeks. I have a picture on my site. I don’t think I have any flowers on any of my pepper plants. Normally, my peppers are ready the end of June early July.

Leave a Reply

