Satisfying Sides

I’ve been a bit of a slacker this week. Although I’ve been making meals, they seem to be ones I’ve already posted on here! I guess that’s good though, since I obviously like the recipe enough to make again 🙂 On the Des Moines home front, it’s been an absolutely beautiful week so far, and I’m looking forward to an equally beautiful weekend! Pool, you are in my sights! Do any of you have any good summer reads? I need to establish my reading list ASAP!

Anyways, I know you are all frantically checking your e-mail every 30 minutes for a new post, so I figured I’d leave you with something quick (and sort of boring) to get you through your workday. One of my favorite local shopping spots in Des Moines is Gateway Market (obviously), for their fresh produce, meat, and seafood. Although it can get a bit pricey, it’s totally worth it knowing you’re supporting local farmers as well as a local business. Well, I had brilliant plans to make a bunch of delicious things to bring for lunch this week, but after heading to Gateway on Monday, I decided this week was all about simplicity. So I picked up two of my favorite sides — Cilantro Tabbouleh and Edamame Salad — and some crackers to make a few tasty and satisfying lunch alternatives. Both sides are light, perfect for a midday snack or lunch, and keep me energized throughout the day! Yum, I can’t get enough of either of them! If you don’t live in Des Moines, Trader Joe’s has a similar Tabbouleh, or you can always try making one (or both) of them. The edamame salad is simply: Edamame, corn, tofu, sesame oil, and garlic salt. So fresh! Yum 🙂


What’s your favorite go-to lunch item?

N

Leave a Reply

