Saturday Night Delight.

This was the first Saturday in I’m not even sure how long that Max and I had absolutely NO plans! And instead of making plans that day like I usually do, I stuck by my leisure day, got some awesome groceries from Gateway, biked to Trader Joe’s for some wine, and prepared a delicious meal. I originally set out to prepare a halibut dish, but Gateway informed me that halibut would be about $30/lb right now (who knew?), so I settled with some fresh cod steaks. I have no prior experience cooking cod, and when breading different seafoods/meats I usually overflip it, causing the breading to fall off and the seafood to take forever to cook. However, I was patient with my fish this time and cooked it to perfection! The main course ended up being parmesan-encrusted cod fillets, topped with a caper-lemon-butter sauce, and finished with a champagne vinaigrette side salad. I will definitely be making this recipe again. It was one of the best ones I’ve made in awhile!

Before I jump the gun and get into the cod recipe, however, I need to share my locally grown and prepared appetizer. Since we decided to spend the day at home, we obviously needed an appetizer with some wine to tide us over for the main meal. Well, when shopping in Gateway, I stumbled upon some spring garlic from Cleverley Farms. I’d never cooked with spring garlic and honestly had no idea what it tastes like, so I decided to pass it by. As I ventured on in the speciality market, I came across a sample: spring garlic good butter. I do NOT pass up samples — I mean, people work so hard to prepare them and put them out, it’s common courtesy to try, right? Plus, there was bread to dip in it, so it was a no-brainer. I dipped my bread into this bizarre concoction (which turned out to be warm, BONUS!), and I must say it was amazzzingggg…I asked one of the staff what “good butter” was, which I thought to be a normal question, and turns out that good butter is simply a “good” brand of butter — locally grown to be specific. I felt sort’ve dumb but I’m glad I asked, because I swiped up some good butter from Picket Fence Creamery in Iowa and some spring garlic from Cleverly Farms to make this delectable appetizer that I’m now sharing with all of you! And how easy! Not the healthiest, but you really can’t go wrong with fresh butter and spring garlic…

Spring Garlic Good Butter

  • 2 bulbs spring garlic, finely chopped (you can use most of the spring garlic, just cut off the top stems)
  • Fresh butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Ciabatta bread, sliced
  1. Melt butter (as much as you want!) on medium-low heat. Add spring garlic (you can use more if you use a ton of butter) and cook until garlic is soft. Season with salt and pepper. Dunk away!
Parmesan-Encrusted Cod with Lemon-Caper Sauce
  • 2 thick cod steaks
  • olive oil
  • 1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 2 T shredded Parmiggian0 Reggiano
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Mix bread crumbs, Parmesan, and cornstarch in a shallow dish. Place egg in a shallow dish. Dunk cod in egg, letting excess drip off. Coat cod in bread crumb mixture and add to skillet. Cook on medium heat, covered, for 5 minutes; flip and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until fish flakes and breading is golden brown. Remove from pan and keep warm.
For sauce:
  • 1 T spring garlic 
  • 1 T leeks
  • 1/2 cup champagne or dry white wine
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 T capers
  • 1 t tomato paste
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 T snipped fresh parsley
  1. Add garlic and leeks to hot pan and saute until soft. Add champagne and simmer until mixture is reduced by half, about 2 minutes. Mix in lemon juice, capers, and tomato paste, stirring together until thickened. Add butter until it melts, and stir in parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Drizzle over cod and serve with a side salad. 
I absolutely LOVED this dish. The sweet flavor of the sauce paired great with the crispy texture of the panko and the flakiness of thefish. And a side salad with champagne vinaigrette went well with the fish, especially since champagne was used in the sauce to tie it all together. Yum, yum, yum!
N
Leave a Reply

