Spring Soup!

Due to the fact that Max recently had his wisdom teeth out, our two-person household has been on a soft-food diet. Unfortunately his surgery went a bit rougher than mine and he ended up with a bruised mouth and a black eye (I swear I don’t beat up on him!). In my grocery store quest for soft foods, I decided to finally give Greek yogurt a try, and to my surprise, I loved it! I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews, but I find that it has a much thicker, creamier consistency, more like a spreadable cheese — and since I love cheese, what’s not to love!

Anyways, since there were no Friday Funs last week, (I know how much you missed them!), a super quick recap before I get to our spring-y soup recipe 🙂 Aside from having a short week last week to nurse Max back to health, I went to the dinner and then the wine bar Sbrocco for a drink with Jessie to wind down after my eventful week. It was such a good time, and I love the atmosphere of that place! (The wine helped, too!)

Now, onto the soup recipe. Max’s mom gave me this recipe after we had it at her house last year. It’s simple and light, which makes it great for a chillier spring day! Plus, there’s tortellini in it, so you can’t really go wrong there 🙂 I added a few things here and there for an added touch. If you have your wisdom teeth out in the coming months, I recommend this recipe…Max was able to eat it juuuust fine!

Paula’s Tortellini Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 T garlic, minced
  • 32 oz low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 pkg tortellini (we varied a bit from the original recipe here…it calls for less tortellini but we used the whole package!)
  • 3/4 bag of fresh spinach (Add as much or as little as you like — it cooks down to almost nothing, so we almost used the whole bag of fresh spinach!)
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 T pesto
  • Spices (we used a oregano-basil spice blend to give it added flavor!)
  • Parmesan cheese, grated (optional)
  1. Saute garlic over medium heat until browned. Add chicken broth and tortellini; cover. Bring to boil and let boil for an additional minute. Reduce heat and let simmer for 5 minutes.
  2. Add spinach, stirring in until wilted. Add sun-dried tomatoes, pesto, and spices. Let simmer an additional 5 minutes, or until heated through and tortellini are soft.
  3. If desired, top with Parmesan cheese, and serve with a ciabatta roll.

 

Next spring soup I’ve been dying to try? Chilled asparagus soup! Sounds perfect for a warm spring or summer day 🙂

N

Leave a Reply

