Chicken Caesar Burgers

Normally I don’t like burgers. And lately I haven’t been a big fan of chicken. Call me crazy, but when the weather gets warmer, the last thing I want to eat is a big hunk of meat. However, I came across a recipe that fell into both the burger and the chicken category — Chicken Caesar Burgers — and it actually sounded pretty good! I was so happy with how these turned out…usually I can’t cook a burger without it A. falling apart or B. drying out, and these were juicy and flavorful AND kept their shape! I opted to make my own Caesar dressing, but you can use store-bought dressing to save a step! And the pita rounds were a great touch to make an open-faced sandwich with a few less calories 🙂 These burgers are a fun twist and a little more “classy” than your typical meat patty with cheese (since classiness is obviously what I look for in my food 🙂 ). Let me know what you think of them, they just may be my new favorite burger!!

Chicken Caesar Burgers

(Recipe adapted from: Grilling magazine, Meredith Corporation)

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup soft bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 1 t Worchestershire sauce (we didn’t have any on hand so I subbed in steak sauce)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 t black pepper
  • 1 pound ground chicken (we used Smart Chicken!)
  • Caesar dressing, store-bought or homemade
  • 4 small pita bread rounds
  • Shredded romaine lettuce
  • Tomato slices
  1. In a large bowl combine egg, bread crumbs, Parmesan, lemon juice, Worchestershire sauce, garlic, and pepper. Add chicken and mix well. Shape chicken mixture into four 1/2-inch-thick patties (we actually made 5 good-size patties out of the mix!)
  2. Now, we chose to cook on the stove instead of grilling, but grilling is definitely an option! (I’m just no good at it and Max thought they would fall apart :)) So from here, either grill over medium heat until no longer pink or cook in a skillet in hot oil over medium heat. For skillet, place patties in hot oil and cover, allowing the meat to cook internally.
  3. Meanwhile, heat or toast pita rounds. Spread a thin layer of Caesar dressing onto rounds, top with lettuce and tomato, and finish with a delicious chicken patty!

N

5 thoughts on “Chicken Caesar Burgers

  1. Where do you get pita rounds? I looked for them at Hy-Vee; they weren’t in the bread aisle so I asked a worker, who sent me to the Health Food area, but all I could find were flat breads that were bigger than I wanted. THANKS!

Leave a Reply

