Presto! Chicken Parmesan!

I am a little embarrassed… I had every intention to take a picture of my delicious chicken parmesan the other night, but by the time I fixed my plate, I was so hungry I forgot to take a pic. Needless to say, this a deliciously simple recipe for a quick, weeknight dinner! And it’s not too bad for you (especially if you cut back on a bit of the cheese and pasta!). I’m not sure where I originally found this recipe, but it’s worked great for me! And it’s even good enough that my Italian boyfriend gives it two thumbs up…Magnifico!

Chicken Parmesan

Ingredients:

  • 3 or 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I prefer Smart Chicken)
  • 1/2 cups Panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1 T dried oregano
  • 1 T dried basil
  • 1/2 t cayenne
  • 1/2 cup flour, on a shallow plate
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten, in a shallow bowl
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 2 cups tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups grated mozzarella (I used an Italian blend of cheeses with the big, shaved pieces. So good!)
  • Pasta (optional)

Combine bread crumbs, parmesan, oregano, basil, and cayenne in a shallow dish. Coat each chicken breast in flour; dip in egg. Then dip into bread crumb mixture, patting on mixture to coat. Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chicken to pan, cooking two pieces at a time until golden brown on both sides (chicken should not yet be cooked through). Spread 1 cup of the tomato sauce in bottom of a baking dish and top with prepared chicken breasts. Top with remaining 1 cup sauce and sprinkly with mozzarella (or other cheeses). Bake, covered,  in oven at 375 degrees F for about 20 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and cheese is bubbly. Serve with pasta and additional tomato sauce (and of course, a nice glass of red wine!)

This wasn't my exacttt plate, but it looked like this! More cheese and sauce, though 🙂 (Photo Courtesy of McCormick, http://www.mccormick.com)

One thought on “Presto! Chicken Parmesan!

Leave a Reply

