Rescue your Recipes!

I get overwhelmed easily. And one thing that overwhelms me is keeping things organized. At my job, we get multiple magazines a week, and it can get rather difficult keeping up with them. I don’t like clutter, and if I don’t stay on top of my magazine collection, I often end up with a stack of 20 magazines on our living room table, and an angry boyfriend that is having issues locating the remotes under my massive stack of books. Now, I like to rip out lots of things from all of the magazines I get, from home ideas to clothing and makeup products to crafting suggestions. But my largest pitfall is recipes. There are so many amazing recipes in BHG magazines, and to simply dog ear half of the pages in a magazine does me no good. I won’t remember the recipes, or what recipe was in which magazine, or where that magazine is. And if you’re anything like me, I forget all but about four recipes when I’m trying to decide on what to make for dinner. (AH! I’m getting overwhelmed just thinking about it!).

So I had to come up with a way to not waste my precious recipes (and other content) while keeping them in an organized place. That’s where my new recipe book came in. I already have a recipe book my mom made for me, but to hoard all of the piling up recipes, I needed something simple that didn’t require me to rewrite the recipe each time. Plus, I’m a total sucker for pictures, and base most of my recipe selection upon how good it looks!

If you find you have the same issue, try my easy suggestion below! It’s inexpensive, and having all of your recipes (mostly) in one place makes planning your weekly meals a cinch! And being able to give away your magazines when you’re done with them instead of stockpiling them in the corner is a feeling of total accomplishment 🙂

All you need:

  • A colorful three-ring binder
  • Sheet protectors
  • Page labels
  • Your recipes!
  • Paper cutter (optional)

Now for the easy part. Once you have all of your supplies, simply tear out your recipes, cut the sides with your paper cutter to make it look a little more put-together, and insert them into your sheet protectors. So simple! I added labels for different recipe categories (i.e. soups, desserts, entrees, drinks, etc.) to make finding the recipes even easier. Now the only hard part is deciding which delicious recipe to choose!

A few of my recipe books

Category tabs

Recipes!

My recipe book from my mom. I use this one mostly for family recipes!

How do you organize your recipes?

N

2 thoughts on “Rescue your Recipes!

  1. I have a 3 ring binder just like this!! I also have a word document my mom made a few years ago with probably 300 recipes that belong to her, both my gmas and then I add some of my own to the end.

Leave a Reply

