Sunday Funday.

For some, Sunday is a day of rest. For me, it’s the one day a week I get to devote to cooking whatever I want. I do most of my grocery shopping on Sundays, and I like preparing and planning out my meals for the rest of the week. It’s a nice, relaxing way to prepare for the work week, and since Max and I are at the gym until about 6:30 during the week, I don’t have much time to prepare dinner if we want to eat before 8:00!

This Sunday, I decided to whip up a batch of blueberry muffins (out of the box, so they weren’t completely homemade…), and I made some Black Bean & Chicken Sausage soup for dinner the next two nights. I found the soup recipe in Fitness magazine, courtesy of Recipe.com (You can find the actual recipe here). I modified it a bit, and it turned out great! A healthy recipe was much needed after Baconfest yesterday 🙂

Blueberry Muffins!

Smoky Black Bean Soup with Chicken Sausage 

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 2 chicken sausage links (we used green chile and cheddar chicken sausage)
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained (the original recipe called for 2 cans, but we opted for only one)
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can green chiles (the original recipe used chipoyle chili in adobo sauce but I’m a wuss when it comes to spicy things!)
  • 2 limes or fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp honey
  • Salt
  1. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add sausage links and cook until lightly browned. Set aside. When cooled, chop into bite-size pieces.
  2.  Add onion and bell pepper to skillet and cook until soft. Add garlic, cumin, and oregano. Saute an additional minute. Stir in beans, broth, and green chiles; bring to boiling. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 5 more minutes. 
  3. Transfer 2 cups soup to a blender and puree. Stir puree into soup mixture and add chopped sausage. Cut two limes in half and squeeze pieces into soup. Add honey and season with salt. Serve immediately, or place in slow cooker on low-heat setting until ready to serve. 

Makes 4 servings. Calories: 258 per serving (!!!)

We dished ours up with toasted tomato-basil focaccia bread. Yum! Hope you had a great weekend! Happy Monday 🙂
N

Leave a Reply

