Healthy Chips? Don’t Mind If I do!

I love a good chip. Salty and crunchy, chips are the ultimate snack. However, their health benefits make them, well, a bit less than ultimate. So what if I tell you that you can get the same crunchy, salty positives of a potato chip, while having something that is actually super good for you? Meet kale. A form of cabbage, this little fella supposedly reduces the risk of cancer (five different types if you can believe that!), provides both antiinflammatory and antioxidant benefits, and has a whole lot of vitamins to boot!

A friend of mine was actually talking about trying kale today, and funny enough, my mom was eating it when I called her this afternoon. So I decided to make a stop-off at Gateway Market and pick some up. After a run and a dog walk, Calvin and I decided to make a batch of kale chips (Calvin didn’t like them nearly as much as I did). And I proceeded to eat the whole head of kale (whoops!). Not nearly as bad as eating a whole bag of chips!!! They’re crispy, light, and delicious…it was like a pringle. Once I started, I couldn’t stop! Now is the season of kale, so go out and grab some, and whip up some kale chips…they’re simple, good for you, and taste pretty dang good, too!

Ingredients:

  • Kale
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic salt
  • Other seasonings (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Rinse kale leaves, patting dry. Cut/rip up kale, removing bottom portions and tough stems. Arrange on foil, atop a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, garlic salt, and other seasonings, if desired. Place kale in oven, baking until it becomes crispy (10-15 minutes). Enjoy your healthy snack!

Please, mom, give me a chip!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Chips? Don’t Mind If I do!

Leave a Reply

