Hearts & Glitter & Cricuts, OH MY!

I woke up early today and decided to get a little crafty to start off my Thursday. Greeting card prices have gotten a bit ridiculous in my opinion, and while I still bite the bullet and pay $5 for a card that likely gets tossed after the holiday (although I save ALL of my cards!), I like to make my cards when I have the time. I was lucky enough to get a Cricut for Christmas, so it makes crafting that much easier. If you don’t have a personalized cutter tool at your disposal, you can opt for a paper punch in the shape of a heart, or practice very intricate scissor cutting techniques. Anything works! I don’t know about you guys, but when I receive a handmade card, it’s so much more meaningful knowing they took the time to make it for me ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is the card I decided to throw together this morning with my supplies.

What you’ll need:

  • Construction Paper (Pink, Purple, Red, anything that looks Valentine-y!)
  • Scissors or Paper Cutter
  • Cricut (I used the Cindy Loo cartridge for the fun animals!) or other paper-cutting device, or paper punches
  • Heart Paper Punch (these can be fairly inexpensive, found at most crafts stores)
  • Curling Ribbon
  • Hole Punch
  • Adhesive, glue dots, or sticky tabs
  • Penย 

Steps: (I’m not going to go too much into the use of the Cricut, since if you have one, you obviously know how to use it!)

  1. Cut out your desired shape(s) using whatever tool you have handy. Make it as detailed or simple as you like.
  2. Cut cardstock to fit precut shapes. Attach cut-out shapes to cardstock using adhesive.
  3. Using heart paper punch, punch design along top of card.
  4. Tie a knot in the middle of curling ribbon, giving you two strands of ribbon to work with. Cut middle of ribbon, making four pieces. Curl.
  5. Punch a hole in the middle-top of your card. Insert ribbon, with knot at the back of card. Cover knot with piece of scrap cardstock so that it stays in place.
  6. Add a “tweet” message and give to your Valentine ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you prefer handmade or store-bought Valentine cards?

XOXO

N

One thought on “Hearts & Glitter & Cricuts, OH MY!

Leave a Reply

