No-Bake Cake Batter Truffles

No-Bake Cake Batter Truffles

I love birthdays. Not because I like a full day about me (though I’ll admit, I like that, too!), but I just like celebrations in general. And I like balloons, and sprinkles, and sparkles…birthdays just make me happy!

When I was back in grade school and high school, having a summer birthday was the worst. I didn’t get to bring treats to school and no one decorated my locker. Luckily, my awesome friends would decorate my locker on my half birthday (January, ugh), but it just wasn’t the same! Who knew that once I became a grownup, I would get the birthday celebration I always wanted!? My fabulous coworkers make signs to hang around our department, andddd I get to bring treats :) This year, I decided to go with something festive—cake batter truffles. Added bonus? I got to use sprinkles! I don’t like cake all that much, but cake batter? Different story. Dip it in white chocolate, top with some colorful sprinkles, and I’m pretty sure I could eat all of them in one sitting. And the best part? They’re bite-size, so you can pop them in your mouth so quickly that it doesn’t count as eating it! At least that’s what I’m telling myself :)

Natalie's 4th Birthday

Me on my 4th birthday!

Birthday Sign

My coworkers are so clever…my birthday sign matches my 4th birthday cake!

No-Bake Cake Batter Truffles

Recipe adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients:

For the truffles:
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 1 cup vanilla cake mix
  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3-4 tablespoons milk
  • Sprinkles
Truffle Coating:
  • 16 ounces white chocolate coating (I used the Ghiradelli white chocolate bars)
  • 4 tablespoons vanilla cake mix
  • Sprinkles
  1. For the truffles: Beat together butter and sugar using an electric mixer until combined. Add cake mix, flour, salt, and vanilla and mix thoroughly. Add 3 tablespoons of milk, or more if needed, to make doughy consistency. Knead a few sprinkles into the dough.
  2. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place on a parchment or wax paper lined cookie sheet. Chill balls in the freezer for about 30 minutes.
  3. For the truffle coating: While dough balls are chilling, melt white chocolate coating in the microwave in 30 second intervals until melted. Stir between intervals. Once melted, quickly stir in cake mix. (NOTE: Don’t use your stovetop for this step. The truffles take too long to dip, and the white chocolate will end up burning to the bottom of the pan as you frantically try to dip your truffles. I learned from experience.)
  4. Using a fork or a skewer, dip truffles into coating and shake of excess by letting the coating drip back into the bowl. Place truffle back on the cookie sheet and top with sprinkles. Repeat with remaining balls until finished.
  5. Chill cake batter truffles in the refrigerator until serving.

Cake Batter Truffles cake batter truffles Cake Batter Truffles cake batter truffles

What’s your favorite birthday treat?

N

One thought on “No-Bake Cake Batter Truffles

Leave a Reply

